Josh j Smith


Poopy Diaper
July 30, 2008, 12:49 pm
Filed under: stuff | Tags: , , ,

Three days passed and nothing.  Gina started to worry about the welfare of Murray.  So we began to talk about what we should do.  

Baby constipation is no joke.  Three days for an adult is a long time, let alone a baby.  Up to this point Gina and I were used to several poopies a day, so when he had not gone for three we became a little worried.  

We did not freak out, but it was dissappointing every time we changed his diaper and did not see poop.  Honestly I don’t think I have ever look forward to seeing poop until then.  Its funny what parents get excited about in the beginning – pooping, puking, burping, farting, peeing – all signs that everything is working internally.  

So when Gina and I were brainstorming what to do about Murray’s constipation.  We began to ask questions rather than panic.  The result is a lot of potty talk around the table.  I don’t know about your family, but potty talk at the table is a regular occurrence.  My brother-in-law says it is because we are all experts at it and no one can argue with our perspective.  As if they know what really happens when we potty.  

It was a Saturday night, I was at work, and Gina went and bought the goods for Murray’s defecating stimulation.  She said that she was going to her mom’s for moral support.  As I was cleaning at the coffee shop, I receive a picture message from Gina with the evidence of Murray’s newfound freedom.  I opened the phone in normal anticipation of receiving a text msg, and come to find it is a picture msg, even more exciting.  Then it was a picture of Murray’s poop filled diaper – I was a proud father to the say the least.  Joy overwhelmed my heart because my son was able to poop, and I know he was feeling more FREE.  It was a subtle experience of redemption for our family.    

I told this story with some friends at lunch – here it is again potty talk at the table – and they were were laughing hysterically because this story was my response to the question, “How have you seen God?”  

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

That was an interesting insight into parenthood.

I just wanted to let you know my address changed:
http://wanderingthroughthedesert.blogspot.com

Comment by PJ




Leave a Reply

