Josh j Smith


#Lent, Saturday, 3/26: Returning.
March 26, 2011, 10:09 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Rembrandt's Prodigal Son

17“But when he came to himself, he said, ‘How many of my father’s hired servants have more than enough bread, but I perish here with hunger! 18I will arise and go to my father, and I will say to him, “Father, I have sinned against heaven and before you. 19( I am no longer worthy to be called your son. Treat me as one of your hired servants.”‘ 20 And he arose and came to his father. But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and felt compassion, and ran and embraced him and kissed him. Luke 15.17-20

I was with my friend Dan last night.  Dan walks really fast.  His normal walking speed is my normal jogging speed.  So you can understand how difficult it is when we ware walking casually together – I am jogging by trying to make myself look like am walking.

We were walk-jogging through the grocery store last nigh arguing about what kind of cookies to buy. As we left there was buy-one-get-one-free Chips Ahoy!  The cashier and I agreed that they are not as good as they used to be.

I continued to rant about Golden Grahams.  A while ago I was hoping to have a sensory flashback to childhood as I took my first bite of the golden crispy cereal drenched in milk.  Instead it was soggy schlopp.  Golden Grahams lost their character.

The present Golden Graham is probably the fabrication of many changes that happened over the years.  With a small change here and there, it would not take long for a chasm to emerge between the original Golden Graham and the new Golden Graham.

There I am confronted with the gaps in my life.  The gaps between my wife and I, my children, and between God and I.  After so many days and hours of being selfish and and living for me, it catches up.  Sometimes there are massive gaps that are the result of little changes or the lack of change.  The quality of my life gets to a certain point and I realize that I’m far from God.  And selfishly I return to God for a happier life, to find direction, or to be “blessed”.

The beauty of returning to God is that he welcomes us with open arms no matter what.  Whether my intentions are selfish or not.

I love my children so much I never want to miss an opportunity to embrace them, especially when they want it.  God’s love is all the more inebriating.

The prodigal son’s motives were selfish for returning to his father, and his father was happy he realized that his life is better with him.  God wants us to realize that life is not good without him, and he wants us to admit it even more.

Prayer

God, I know that I am going to be far from you.

I know that I will take advantage of you for my own benefit.

Please never stop waiting for me to come back.

Please help me know that you are always there for when I return.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

